Intrado TXT29-1-1 Relay Solution FAQs


Intrado TXT29-1-1 Relay Solution FAQs

Intrado’s TXT29-1-1 Relay Solution is an interim service designed to enable text-based emergency response requests in PSAPs where there currently is no native text solution in place.

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. How will this service work?
A. Your PSAP will designate Intrado’s Emergency Call Relay Center (ECRC) as your interim PSAP to receive emergency text messages.  As FCC procedures require, you’ll submit a Request for Service (RFS) to the wireless carriers in your area with a copy to Intrado.  After Intrado receives the RFS, we’ll coordinate a short test with your PSAP and then, once that test is successful, service will go live.

Q. Why is Intrado offering this service?
A. There has been a rise in high priority emergency calls throughout the United States, particularly in situations involving domestic violence and attempted suicide. In areas where there is currently no texting solution in place, the sender of those messages receives a bounce-back message that text is not supported and to call 9-1-1 directly. Intrado’s TXT29-1-1 Relay Solution will provide an interim step to get emergency text messages to PSAPs who do not yet have text-to-911 available.

Q. What steps do I need to take to use this service?
A. Deploying this service is easy.  An agreement with Intrado will authorize Intrado’s ECRC to receive emergency text messages on your behalf. A Request for Service (RFS) form must then be completed and sent to the wireless carriers operating in your jurisdiction. The last step will be to test with Intrado and the carriers before we turn the service live.

Q. To whom do I send the RFS?
A. Per FCC requirements, you will send the RFS to the wireless carriers operating in your jurisdiction. To assist you, we’ve listed the contact information for the top five wireless carriers below. Scroll to the bottom of the page for the complete list of regional carriers.

Q. Why is testing needed? What do I need to do?
A. To enable the service, configuration changes need to be made by Intrado and potentially by other TCC providers, depending on which carriers are involved. We want to ensure that all changes are made accurately and that the service is working in the production environment.

To test, we will need to have phones from each of the wireless carriers and a scheduled time to test. For the phones, we can either use phones that you already have onsite locally with employees (which will be the quickest way to test), we can ship phones, or ask the carriers to ship them.

Q. How will these text messages be handled? Who is answering the messages?
A. Text messages will be forwarded to Intrado’s ECRC, using a web-based tool provided by Intrado partner Agent511.  The ECRC is staffed by experienced public safety trained Telecommunicators (TCs) who handle thousands of 9-1-1 calls each month.

Q. How will Intrado obtain the caller’s location?
A. The Intrado TC will ask the caller for the location of their emergency, similar to voice calls. The TC may also have access to the latitude and longitude, when it is provided by the carrier.

Q. Will the Intrado TC remain on the call during the emergency?
A.  Yes, for in-progress emergencies, the Intrado TC will remain in the text session with the caller and on the phone with the PSAP’s TC until help arrives.

Q. Do I need to register with the FCC as I normally would for a text deployment?
A. PSAPs are not required to submit information to the FCC; however, you may elect to do so by following the FCC’s instructions here:   https://www.fcc.gov/general/psap-text-911-readiness-and-certification-form.

Q. Is there an initiative to mandate this with the FCC?
A. The FCC is aware of this initiative and they are supportive as it will enable more emergency text messages to be delivered to PSAPs and citizens to receive the help they need. However, we do not anticipate this becoming a mandate as it’s intended to be a temporary service until PSAPs are able to deploy a more integrated, native solution.

Q. Will I need to submit another RFS when I deploy with a native solution?
A. Our understanding is that you do not need to submit another RFS.

Q. How much does the service cost?
A. There is no cost to public safety organizations for this service for six months.

Q. What happens after six months?
A. This service is intended to be a temporary service. We understand a more integrated text solution is best for your citizens, enabling your PSAP to handle emergency text messages directly. We hope that you will be able to transition to a more permanent text to 9-1-1 solution within six months. If that isn’t feasible, then we are happy to work with you to either implement Text-to-911 at your sites or offer the ECRC services on a commercial basis.

Regional Carriers

C SPIRE WIRELESS – AL, AR, LA, MS, TN – Jen Bartels Smith, Jennifer.BartelsSmith@jacobs.com; Candace Miller, candice.c.miller@jacobs.com.

CHAT MOBILITY – IA, MO, NE – Tom Weis, tom@i35-swt.com

CELLULAR ONE OF NORTHEAST AZ – AZ, NM – Scott Mader, Smader@cellularoneaz.com, 928-205-801

CROSS TELEPHONE dba SPROCKET WIRELESS – OK – Stephen Jones, sjjones@crosstel.net

INLAND CELLULAR – ID, WA – Randy Bennett, g0bbler@inlandnet.com

IOWA WIRELESS – IA – Joe Sargent, Joe.Sargent@iwireless.com; Dave Yerigan, Dave.Yerigan@iwireless.com

MTPCS LLC dba CELLULAR ONE affiliated with Louisiana Cellular – LA Eric Carrozzo, ecarrozzo@cellonenation.com

MTPCS LLC dba CELLULAR ONE affiliated with Texas (formerly Three Rivers) – TX – Eric Carrozzo, ecarrozzo@cellonenation.com

NEWCORE WIRELESS – MN, SD – Julie Albrecht, Julie.Ahlbrecht@corewg.com; Steph Court, stephanie.court@corewg.com

NEXTECH – KS – Rick Staples, rstaples@ntwls.com

NORTHWEST MISSOURI CELLULAR – MO – Roger Bundridge, roger@nwmcell.com

PIONEER/ENID CELLULAR – KS, OK – Steve Epsolt, srespolt@ptci.com, 403-375-0330

SAGEBRUSH CELLULAR – MT, ND – Dominic Thiel, Dominic.thiel@nemont.coop; Bob Merrigan, bob.merrigan@nemont.coop

SI WIRELESS – IL, KY, TN – Ryan Hill, rhill@mymobilenation.com, 618-351-9050

SOURIS RIVER – ND – Rhonda Maas, rhondajm@srttel.com

SOUTHERN LINC – AL, FL, GA, MS Jean Martin jhmartin@southernco.com

UNION WIRELESS – CO, ID, MT, UT, WY Stalin Rodriguez srodriguez@Unionwireless.com, Nathan Eubanks neubanks@Unionwireless.com

UNITED WIRELESS – KS Riley Schmidt rileys@unitedtelcom.net

VIAERO WIRELESS – CO, KS, NE, WY Ryan Hoke Ryan.Hoke@viaero.com


Intrado

utility-side-menu